Break It Down Now: One Degree

My general default settings are either on or off. I’m an all or nothing kind of person. It’s really hard for me to ease into anything. So I need reminders. Reminders that change happens in degrees. It happens over time. It happens gradually and then suddenly. And only suddenly because of all the work I’ve put in gradually.

I think this might be one of the secrets to creating a self-care practice. Can we think about our practice in terms of degrees? Can we shift our thinking one degree? Can we move the self-care needle one degree? Can we do something simple with a whole lot of bang for its buck?

tff - week 9

What kind of nourishing choice could you make for yourself today? Is your body in need of movement or rest? Is your mind in need of good conversation or quiet contemplation? Is your soul in need of calming meditation or an upbeat and energizing spiritual practice? No clue? Then you’re free to try anything that moves you one degree closer.

IMG_1115

I started doing yoga fifteen years ago in my living room using these pictures as my guide. I picked up this book for a dollar at a book sale and figured what the hell? My life was a disaster. It couldn’t hurt. In a lot of ways, yoga saved me. Yoga is now a huge part of my life and my identity and how I take care of myself. But it started with a secondhand book and five minutes a day.

I frequently forget that we don’t always need big changes. Sometimes, we just need to nudge ourselves one degree in the right direction. We need to be present for just one moment longer. We need to lean in to the good that already exists.

You could choose to move your body and go for a walk around your neighborhood. Or commit five minutes to meditation. Schedule a phone date with a friend. Put a blanket on your yoga mat. Do whatever it takes to move yourself one degree closer to nurturing.

tff - week 9 (1)

  • You could swap out an afternoon coffee for a green smoothie. Like once a week. Obviously not every day. I’m not insane. I know green smoothie recipes are a dime a dozen, but I love this one so much. It’s so easy and so good and totally gets the job done in the nourishing my body department.You don’t even need ice because the frozen pineapple does the heavy lifting. You can add a half or whole frozen banana for a little extra sweetness and creaminess. You can also leave out the kale for a milder treat. I especially like it with ground flax seed because it adds a little nuttiness. I get that at TJ’s too. I also get that I’m a little nutty. It’s all good.

If you’re having trouble figuring out what might be nourishing to you, you could try these badass Goldsheets to help figure it out. (Like worksheets… but we’re just here for the gold, right?). I can’t help my punny-ness. The exercises are designed to help you get at what you’re craving and what might nourish those cravings for you today.

Leave a comment